European Projects *

The European Neighborhood Instrument (ENI) came into force in 2014.[1] It is the financial arm of the European Neighborhood Policy, the EU’s foreign policy towards its neighbors to the East and to the South. It has a budget of €15.4 billion and provides the bulk of funding through a number of programmes.[2]

The six ENI targets are: (1) Promoting human rights and fundamental freedoms, the rule of lawequality, sustainable democracy, good governance and a thriving civil society; (2) Achieving progressive integration into the EU internal market and enhanced co-operation including through legislative approximation and regulatory convergence, institution building and investments; (3) Creating conditions for well managed mobility of people and promotion of people-to-people contacts; (4) Encouraging developmentpoverty reduction, internal economic, social and territorial cohesion, rural development, climate action and disaster resilience; (5) Promoting confidence building and other measures contributing to security and the prevention and settlement of conflicts; (6) Enhancing sub-regional, regional and Neighborhood wide collaboration as well as Cross-Border Cooperation;

The ENI, effective from 2014 to 2020, replaces the European Neighborhood and Partnership Instrument – known as the ENPI. This cooperation instrument continues to be managed by DG Development and Cooperation – EuropeAid, which turns decisions taken on a political level into actions on the ground. ENPI funding approved for the period 2007-2013 was €11.2 billion.

The 16 ENI partner countries are: AlgeriaEgyptIsraelJordanLebanonLibyaMoroccoPalestineSyriaTunisia, in the South, and ArmeniaAzerbaijanBelarusGeorgia,MoldovaUkraine in the East.

With Russia, the EU has a separate Strategic Partnership.[3]

The EU Neighbourhood Info Centre was launched in January 2009 by the European Commission to make more known the relationship between the EU and its Neighbours as part of the European Neighbourhood Policy.


The Erasmus+ programme aims to boost skills and employ ability, as well as modernising Education, Training, and Youth work. The seven-year programme will have a budget of €14.7 billion; a 40% increase compared to current spending levels, reflecting the EU’s commitment to investing in these areas.

Erasmus+ will provide opportunities for over 4 million Europeans to study, train, gain work experience and volunteer abroad.




Euro Med

The Barcelona Process was launched in November 1995 as the framework to manage both bilateral and regional relations by the Ministers of Foreign Affairs of the 15 EU members and 12 Mediterranean partners of the time.

Guided by the agreements of the Barcelona Declaration , it formed the basis of the Euro-Mediterranean Partnership which has expanded and evolved into the Union for the Mediterranean. It was an innovative alliance based on the principles of joint ownership, dialogue, and cooperation, seeking to create a Mediterranean region of peace, security and shared prosperity. The partnership was organised into three main dimensions, which remain today as the broad working areas of the partnership:

The Barcelona Process

  • Political sphere: Common area of peace and stability through the reinforcement of political and security dialogue’.
  • Economical sphere: Zone of shared prosperity through an economic and financial partnership and the gradual establishment of a free-trade zone.
  • Cultural sphere: The rapprochement between peoples through a social, cultural and human partnership.

Political and Security Dialogue, aimed at creating a common area of peace and stability underpinned by sustainable development, the rule of law, democracy and human rights.

Economic and Financial Partnership, including the gradual establishment of a free-trade area aimed at promoting shared economic opportunity through sustainable and balanced socio-economic development.

Social, Cultural and Human Partnership, aimed at promoting understanding and intercultural dialogue between cultures, religions and people, and facilitating exchanges between civil society and ordinary citizens, particularly women and young people.

EuroMed Youth Phase I – 1999 to 2001

EuroMed Youth Phase II – 2001 to 2004

EuroMed Youth Phase III – 2005 to 2008

EuroMed Youth Phase IV – 2010 to 2013

With 8 participating Countries: Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Morocco, Palestinian Authority, and Tunisia






Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: